Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern

GREEN BRANDS Austria Personality 2020

Musician


Information about the work of Hubert von Goisern can be found at https://www.hubertvongoisern.com/

He has been touring the stages of the world for more than 30 years and delights his audience with his unique music: Hubert von Goisern. As musical ambassador of Austria, as an innovator of folk music, a modernizer, as an individualist – and increasingly involved as an alarmist for environmental conservation and humanity.

With his very own mixture of rock, jazz, blues, yodelling, Styrian Accordion, diverse wind and string instruments and traditional folk music he has created his own genre. Alpine rock, Alpine Grunge, world music, folk rock – Hubert von Goisern do not fit into a single category. He Rather challenges his audience.

Sometimes rough, dark and rocking, sometimes slow, quiet, even romantic, then again with stomping beats and hard guitar riffs – the artist always surprises his listeners over and over again with his virtuoso works. His music is influenced by what he has experienced as a traveller, as a curious person about the world, as a musician.

Hubert Achleitner, as von Goisern is actually called, was born in 1952. At the age of five he told his parents that he wanted to be a music conductor. At the age of 12 he joined the local brass band. There he received his first instrument on loan – a trumpet – and free lessons.

However, the membership in the band was only for a short period of time. The then long-haired troublemaker lamented the redundant repertoire and the lack of modernity. The banishment followed.

Not having the loaned trumpet, the young musician reached for the guitar and taught himself to play it. He was inspired by artists like Jimmy Hendrix, John McLaughlin or Miles Davis. Soon he founded his first band and began to compose himself. The foundation for his later career as a songwriter was laid.

Hubert-von-Goisern-2-_-Fotograf-Jürgen-Skarwan
Hubert-von-Goisern-8-_-Fotograf-Helmut-Berg
Hubert-von-Goisern-1_Fotograf-Jürgen-Skarwan_mittel

But Austria was too confining for him from an early age. After he received a globe as a present at the age of twelve, Hubert von Goisern imagined what it would probably smell like here and there. The vast world, and the other things about the world fascinated him. And so he left in his early twenties.

Hubert von Goisern emigrated to South Africa, where he worked for four years as a chemical laboratory assistant. He then moved to Canada, where he stayed for three years and studied flamenco guitar in Toronto. On his journey back to home in Austria, the Globetrotter spent six months with bounty hunters in the Philippines, learning their songs and playing the local nose flute.

After his return, von Goisern studied electroacoustics and experimental music at the University of Music Vienna. He rediscovered the accordion, which he had received as a gift from his grandfather many years earlier. For him it was the epitome of the eternal yesterday. But von Goisern developed a new way of playing and thus created a new foundation for his unique style.

In 1986 he met the musician Wolfgang Staribacher, together with whom he performed as the Alpinkatzen. During a street music performance in the centre of Vienna, he was approached by a manager from the record company CBS, who offered him a contract on the spot. In 1988, the Alpinkatzen released their first record “Alpine Lawine”.

Three years later the duo split up and von Goisern found new musicians for his band in Upper Austria. In 1992 the Alpinkatzen released the album “Aufgeigen stått niederschiassen”. From then the Band became hit and climbed up the mountain of music : hit parades, several albums, tours throughout Europe and as far as the USA. Von Goisern was awarded multiple times with the Amadeus Austrian Music Award, the most important Austrian music prize. In the course of his career he went on many tours with over 1,000 concerts. He has played in the Egyptian city of Assiut to on the Cape Verde Islands at grand Open Airs.

In 2007 and 2008 Hubert von Goisern toured eleven countries on his legendary Linz Europe Tour on a ship converted into a concert stage. He sailed across several rivers across Europe to the Black Sea and the North Sea and played a total of 57 concerts.

His stage name, described by himself, was a late act of revenge on the petty-, narrow-mindedness of his homeland, the Upper Austrian spa town of Bad Goisern in the Salzkammergut. The children of the town were always taught to be quiet so as not to disturb the spa guests. Nor did the local fathers like the new interpretation of folk music. Critics of his worldwide success have since fallen silent.

Hubert von Goisern has never done what was expected from him but yet he was consistently successful. Since his beginnings as an alpine rocker with “Hiatamadl” to the groundbreaking success in 2011 with ” Brenna tuats guat”. This single was at the topped the Austrian single charts for five weeks and was awarded platinum. In 2013, the musician received the honorary Amadeus for genre- and music that unifies people.

Yet von Goisern also tried his hand in other genres. He designed fashion, made his acting debut alongside Martina Gedeck in the TV film “Hölleisengretl” and composed the soundtrack for Joseph Vilsmaier’s feature film “Schlafes Bruder”.

He is a discoverer, a curious person, a world enlightener, in a constant search for a unifying element in the unknown. The musician travelled through Tibet, met the Dalai Lama. The result: His album “Inexil” together with artists from the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts. He travelled to East Africa in 1997 by invitation of chimpanzee researcher Jane Goodall and one year later produced the documentary “Von Goisern to Gombe”. He wrote the soundtrack to the film himself.

In the documentary “Gegen die Stille” (Against Silence) he follows the traces of the folk culture of Greenland. For the exhibition “Alpenliebe” on the Großglockner he created an interactive musical journey through the Alps. In 2015 Marcus H. Rosenmüller’s “Brenna tuat’s schon lang” was released in the cinemas, a documentary about Hubert von Goisern’s life and work, his journeys, his rebellion, his saying-no. A year later the film was awarded the Austrian film and television prize Romy as Best Feature Film Documentary.

HvG_04_Fotograf-Stefan-Wascher-bw

Hubert von Goisern is also successful as a Writer. His first novel was published in May 2020. “Flüchtig” tells the story of a failed marriage. After 30 years living together, the wife breaks out and rushes on a journey to the global south with an uncertain outcome. “An elegant story in clear words, a clever pageturner”, is how “Der Standard” judges the musician’s first novel.

Like his music, his book also touches on current topics that concern him. The Nazi era or the current right-wing extremists worldwide move him just as much as a lack of social justice or increasing globalisation at the expense of regional and local providers does.

Since 2015, the father of two has been committed to the Green Party and supports the Green Party in their election campaign. “I support the Green Party because they represent my values and because this colour is needed in our political landscape, now more than ever before,” von Goisern explains his commitment.

Regionality plays a major role not only in his music. He advocates to support regional and local economies – this protects the environment by reducing long distances and emissions and allows small regional producers to compete well with large, cheaper suppliers.

He stirs up a hornet’s nest and this exactly is the secret behind Hubert von Goisern’s success. With “Brenna tuats guat” he not only made it to the top of the Austrian charts in 2011, but also created the anthem for a critically questioning audience that cares about the environment and their fellow human beings. His current single “A Tag wie heut” also has a powerful message: No matter the colour of skin, religious belief or political opinion – in the end we are all equal. The song is part of his first studio album after several years of stage absence. With “Zeiten & Zeichen”, von Goisern is making a powerful and critical comeback in 2020.

Politically ever active and up-to-date, even at the age of 67 Hubert von Goisern always has his finger on the pulse of time. He shakes-up the people to awake them, criticises without being judgmental. This is how he stimulates reflection of thoughts and action.

For his commitment to environmental conservation and a better and more peaceful world, Hubert von Goisern is awarded the “GREEN BRAND Austria Personality 2020”.

Picture Credits  © Stefan Wascher, Helmut Berg, Jürgen Skarwan

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern

GREEN BRANDS Austria Persönlichkeit 2020

Musiker


Informationen über die Arbeit von Hubert von Goisern finden Sie unter https://www.hubertvongoisern.com/

Er ist seit mehr als 30 Jahren auf den Bühnen der Welt unterwegs und begeistert sein Publikum mit seiner einzigartigen Musik: Hubert von Goisern. Als musikalischer Botschafter Österreichs, als Volksmusikerneuerer, als Entstauber, als Individualist – und zunehmend auch als Mahner für Umweltschutz und Mitmenschlichkeit.

Mit seiner ganz eigenen Mischung aus Rock, Jazz, Blues, Jodeln, Steirischer Ziehharmonika, diversen Blas- und Saiteninstrumenten und traditioneller Volksmusik hat er ein eigenes Genre geschaffen. Alpenrock, Alpin Grunge, Weltmusik, Volksrock – Hubert von Goisern passt in keine Schublade. Stattdessen fordert er sein Publikum heraus.

Manchmal rau, dunkel und rockig, manchmal langsam, leise, ja sogar romantisch, dann wieder mit stampfenden Beats und harten Gitarrenriffs – der Künstler überrascht seine Zuhörer immer aufs Neue mit seinen virtuosen Werken. In seine Musik fließt ein, was er als Reisender, als auf die Welt neugieriger Mensch, als Musiker erlebt hat.

Hubert Achleitner, wie von Goisern eigentlich heißt, wurde 1952 geboren. Mit fünf Jahren erklärte er seinen Eltern, er wolle Dirigent werden. Mit 12 Jahren trat er der örtlichen Blaskapelle bei. Dort bekam er als Leihgabe sein erstes Instrument – eine Trompete – und kostenlosen Unterricht.
Allerdings war die Mitgliedschaft in der Kapelle nur von kurzer Dauer. Der damals langhaarige Querulant beklagte das redundante Repertoire und die fehlende Modernität. Der Rauswurf folgte.
Ohne die Leihtrompete griff der junge Musiker als nächstes zur Gitarre und brachte sich das Spielen selbst bei. Ihn inspirierten Künstler wie Jimmy Hendrix, John McLaughlin oder Miles Davis. Bald gründete er seine erste Band und begann, selbst zu komponieren. Der Grundstein für seine spätere Karriere als Liedermacher war gelegt.

Hubert-von-Goisern-2-_-Fotograf-Jürgen-Skarwan
Hubert-von-Goisern-8-_-Fotograf-Helmut-Berg
Hubert-von-Goisern-1_Fotograf-Jürgen-Skarwan_mittel

Doch Österreich war ihm früh zu eng. Nachdem er mit zwölf Jahren einen Globus geschenkt bekommen hatte, stellte sich Hubert von Goisern vor, wie es hier und dort wohl riechen würde. Ihn faszinierte die weite Welt, das Andere. So zog es ihn mit Anfang zwanzig fort.

Hubert von Goisern wanderte nach Südafrika aus, wo er vier Jahre lang als Chemielaborant arbeitete. Anschließend zog er nach Kanada, wo er drei Jahre blieb und in Toronto Flamencogitarre studierte. Auf der Heimreise nach Österreich verbrachte der Weltenbummler sechs Monate bei Kopfgeldjägern auf den Philippinen, lernte ihre Lieder und die einheimische Nasenflöte spielen.

Nach seiner Rückkehr studierte von Goisern Elektroakustik und experimentelle Musik an der Wiener Musikhochschule. Er entdeckte die Ziehharmonika wieder, die er viele Jahre zuvor von seinem Großvater geschenkt bekommen hatte. Für ihn war sie der Inbegriff des ewig Gestrigen. Doch entwickelte von Goisern eine neue Spielweise und schuf damit eine weitere Grundlage seines einzigartigen Stils.

1986 lernte er den Musiker Wolfgang Staribacher kennen, mit dem er gemeinsam als die Alpinkatzen auftrat. Während eines Straßenmusikauftritts in der Wiener Innenstadt wurde er von einem Manager der Plattenfirma CBS angesprochen, der ihm auf der Stelle einen Vertrag anbot. 1988 veröffentlichten die Alpinkatzen ihre erste Schallplatte „Alpine Lawine“.

Drei Jahre später trennte sich das Duo und von Goisern fand in Oberösterreich neue Musiker für seine Band. 1992 veröffentlichten die Alpinkatzen das Album „Aufgeigen stått niederschiassen“. Von da an ging es musikalisch steil bergauf: Hitparaden, mehrere Alben, Touren durch ganz Europa und bis in die USA. Mehrfach wurde von Goisern mit dem Amadeus Austrian Music Award ausgezeichnet, dem wichtigsten österreichischen Musikpreis. Im Laufe seiner Karriere ging er auf viele Tourneen mit über 1.000 Konzerten. So spielte er auch im ägyptischen Assiut oder auf den Kapverden auf großen Open Airs.
2007 und 2008 tourte Hubert von Goisern auf seiner legendären Linz-Europa-Tournee auf einem zur Konzertbühne umgebauten Schiff durch elf Länder. Über mehrere Flüsse schipperte er quer durch Europa bis zum Schwarzen Meer und zur Nordsee und spielte insgesamt 57 Konzerte.

Sein Künstlername sei, so sagt er selbst, ein später Racheakt an der kleingeistigen Engstirnigkeit seiner Heimat, dem oberösterreichischen Kurort Bad Goisern im Salzkammergut. Den Kindern des Ortes sei stets eingetrichtert worden, leise zu sein, um die Kurgäste nicht zu stören. Auch gefiel den Ortsvätern nicht, wie er die Volksmusik neu interpretierte. Inzwischen sind die Kritiker ob seines weltweiten Erfolgs verstummt.

Hubert von Goisern hat nie das gemacht, was von ihm erwartet wurde, und war damit konsequent erfolgreich. Von den Anfängen als Alpenrocker mit dem „Hiatamadl“ bis zum bahnbrechenden Erfolg 2011 von „Brenna tuats guat“. Die Single stand fünf Wochen an der Spitze der österreichischen Single-Charts und wurde mit Platin ausgezeichnet. 2013 erhielt der Musiker den Ehren-Amadeus für genre- und völkerverbindende Musik.
Doch von Goisern probierte sich auch in anderen Genres aus. Er entwarf Mode, gab sein Schauspieldebüt an der Seite von Martina Gedeck im TV-Film „Hölleisengretl“ und komponierte die Filmmusik für Joseph Vilsmaiers Kinofilm „Schlafes Bruder“.

Er ist ein Entdecker, ein Neugieriger, ein Welterklärer, immer auf der Suche nach dem Verbindenden im Fremden. Der Musiker bereiste Tibet, traf den Dalai Lama. Das Resultat: Sein Album „Inexil“ gemeinsam mit Künstlern des Tibetischen Instituts für Darstellende Künste. Er reiste 1997 auf Einladung der Schimpansenforscherin Jane Goodall nach Ostafrika und produziert ein Jahr später die Dokumentation „Von Goisern nach Gombe“. Den Soundtrack zum Film schrieb er selbst.

In der Doku „Gegen die Stille“ begibt er sich auf die Spuren der grönländischen Volkskultur. Für die Ausstellung „Alpenliebe“ auf dem Großglockner gestaltet er eine interaktive musikalische Reise durch die Alpen. 2015 kommt Marcus H. Rosenmüllers „Brenna tuat’s schon lang“ in die Kinos, eine Doku über Hubert von Goiserns Leben und Schaffen, seine Reisen, sein Auflehnen, sein Nein-Sagen. Ein Jahr später erhält der Film den österreichischen Film- und Fernsehpreis Romy als Beste Kino-Doku.

HvG_04_Fotograf-Stefan-Wascher-bw

Auch als Autor ist Hubert von Goisern inzwischen erfolgreich. Im Mai 2020 erschien sein erster Roman. „Flüchtig“ erzählt die Geschichte einer gescheiterten Ehe. Nach 30 Jahren Nebeneinanderher- Leben bricht die Ehefrau aus und macht sich überstürzt auf eine Reise in den Süden mit ungewissem Ausgang. „Eine elegante Erzählung in klaren Worten, ein lebenskluger Pageturner“, urteilt „Der Standard“ über den Erstlingsroman des Musikers.

Wie in seiner Musik streift auch sein Buch aktuelle Themen, die ihn umtreiben. Die Nazizeit oder der aktuelle Rechtspopulismus weltweit bewegen ihn ebenso wie fehlende soziale Gerechtigkeit oder die zunehmende Globalisierung auf Kosten regionaler und lokaler Anbieter.
Seit 2015 engagiert sich der zweifache Vater für die Grünen und unterstützt sie im Wahlkampf. „Ich unterstütze die Grünen, weil sie meine Werte vertreten und weil es diese Farbe in unserer politischen Landschaft braucht, jetzt mehr denn je zuvor“, begründet von Goisern sein Engagement.

Nicht nur in seiner Musik spielt Regionalität eine große Rolle. Er plädiert dafür, die regionale und lokale Wirtschaft zu unterstützen – dies schütze die Umwelt durch kurze Wege und weniger Abgase und biete kleinen regionalen Herstellern die Möglichkeit, gegen große kostengünstigere Anbieter zu bestehen.
Er legt den Finger in die Wunde. In seinem Werk liegt hierin das Erfolgsgeheimnis des Hubert von Goisern. Mit „Brenna tuats guat“ schaffte er es im Jahr 2011 nicht nur an die Spitze der österreichischen Charts, sondern schuf auch die Hymne für ein kritisch-hinterfragendes Publikum, das sich um die Umwelt und seine Mitmenschen schert. Auch seine aktuelle Single „A Tag wie heut“ hat eine eindringliche Botschaft: Egal welche Hautfarbe, Konfession oder politische Einstellung jemand hat – letztlich sind wir alle gleich. Der Song gehört zu seinem ersten Studioalbum nach mehreren Jahren Bühnenabstinenz. Mit „Zeiten & Zeichen“ meldet sich von Goisern damit im Jahr 2020 kraftvoll und kritisch zurück.

Immer hochpolitisch und brandaktuell ist Hubert von Goisern auch mit 67 Jahren am Puls der Zeit. Er rüttelt die Menschen wach, kritisiert, ohne maßregelnd zu sein. So regt er zum Nachdenken und Handeln an.
Für sein Engagement für den Umweltschutz und eine bessere friedlichere Welt wird Hubert von Goisern als „GREEN BRAND Austria Persönlichkeit 2020“ ausgezeichnet.

Bildnachweis  © Stefan Wascher, Helmut Berg, Jürgen Skarwan